Life after Death

22 08 2009
February 7th, Black Saturday

Image Source Unknown

Image source unknown via Sandy Austin, flickr


Much of the world heard about the Victorian bushfires via the media, but like any tragedy, nothing can compare to actually being amongst the fall out.

 

Image source unknown

Image source : Alex Coppel, Sunday Herald Sun

 

When horrific things happen, it is difficult to capture and convey the happenings, to express how the smoking landscape looks, the horror on peoples faces as they recount their horror story, the wailings of men who have never cried, the confusion in the eyes of the children, the sorrow of the dispossessed people in the tent cities, and the smoke, the smell, the smell. You cannot escape it!

 

Image Source Unknown

Image source unknown via Sandy Austin, flickr

 


It’s been 6 months since the bushfires, they came very close to my house (photos in the car boot, ready) and even closer to people I know. I have photos and stories they have sent me which I will share down the track. Below is a picture of what it looked like the day the fires raged all over the state.

 

Image Source: Valley_Guy, flickr

Image Source: Valley_Guy, flickr

 


Moving forward, the point of this post is these pictures coming up, the new life, to just say LOOK, the bush is alive again!

As we approach Spring –

Image source : bootload, flickr

Image source : bootload, flickr


we are hopeful for rain to fill our dams –

Image Source : NicnBill, flickr

Image Source : NicnBill, flickr


and hope that with hindsight and a better evacuation plan now in place, this will never EVER happen again, God willing.

 

Image Source : ubq43, flickr

Image Source : ubq43, flickr

 

L*I*F*E


Actions

Information

14 responses

23 08 2009
Richard Reeve

I’m struck traveling through the narrative you wove in word and image, that nature itself is the source of hope. It’s a perspective I never quite had been conscious of.

23 08 2009
Lily

dear Richard, your visit is a pleasure to my eyes. At risk of repeating myself (my comment to SchuggaJoy on the Hello post) and to use a cliche if i may, Nature is awesome! I learn much about life through it, especially unconditional love. For the planet to be subject to such assault, and for it to give back without so much as an IOU, well, i am humbled daily by it, it’s a miracle to me. My hope is that we can see and respect this gift before it’s too late.

23 08 2009
Kendra Kellogg

Love your new blog Lily. You are kicking it off with a beautiful, moving post. I love the movement to spring and new life. Wishing you the very same.

23 08 2009
Lily

heya Kendra & thanks muchly for your kind words. Though many friends have fallen away, some remain, and new ones spring up, like Spring 🙂 aint it grand?

23 08 2009
jeffriesbaby

Thanks for the reminder hon. It is easy to forget sometimes, but we must never forget. Those effected need us to remember! Hugs hon.

Jay

23 08 2009
Lily

Hi Jay. You were such a comfort to me during this distressing time. I’m sorry i haven’t said Thank You until now. Thanks for being there ❤ Great to see you here too HUGS

23 08 2009
Selma

It is incredibly uplifting to see a blackened tree sprouting shoots of green. Always makes me a bit teary, actually.

I hope we are spared the ferocity of the bushfires this summer. As the temperatures soar the fear of what may occur lies at the back of my mind. I will definitely be begging the universe for a little mercy this season.

Great to see you blogging, hon. You can count me in as a regular reader!

23 08 2009
Lily

the last picture is so full of Life, especially as we know the story behind their blackened bark skins. I think many Aussies are anticipating this years summer, just hope they are clearing the forest of natural fuel (bracken, branches, leaves etc).

I am moving soon, my landlord sold this house a week after the fires (a couple bought it). The national forest is at the end of my road. I’m looking for something further out on the flatlands. Safer. Couldn’t imagine living in the mountains, as pretty as it is up there, its a trap for bushfire season. Many prayers will be said for their safety.

Thanks for dropping by Selma, happy to hear you’ll come by again. 🙂

23 08 2009
Sam

Those are incredible images. Against the backdrop of devastation and fear, springs forth new hope. Interspersed with this, your perspectives bring everything into a more personal focus. What a way to kick offf your new blog – thanks for inviting me in!

23 08 2009
Lily

THANKS Sam, wonderful to see you here, i’m really enjoying blogging and getting out there amongst the peeple. Not an easy post to write, it was a very traumatic time for many. But nature is resilient, and so are people. Though i might add there are still tent cities while people towns are being rebuilt. Still needs for assistance, many of these people feel forgotten. I haven’t forgotten. It is seared into my memory.

24 08 2009
brendamantz

Such a beautiful affirmation of the determination of ALL things to survive.

Brenda

25 08 2009
Lily

g’day Brenda. thanks for dropping into the lilypad hon, glad your enjoyed the piece. big huggeroos to youuuu

25 08 2009
alotus_poetry

Dearest Lily,

I will pray for you, your family, and all the people who have gone through such a frightening event! I cannot image how it’s like with fires consuming everything, but with hurricanes and floods where I live, it is probably just as close. I wish for everyone’s comfort, safety, and hope.

Very vivid photos, I must say. I also love the layout of this blog too. 🙂 Very nice.

Many blessings,

alotus_poetry

25 08 2009
Lily

heya lotus, thanks for your prayers, and know they are being offered for you and your community also. Glad you like the layout, its quite possible i will change it again. Perhaps just the header, am going to attempt to make one. blessings your way xo

Leave a Reply

